das WERK

Das WERK is an alternative arts and culture centre located on the Donaukanal in Vienna. Established in August 2006, it serves as a venue for various creative initiatives, concerts and parties.

Since spring 2013 das WERK occupies 5 of the arches of the historical Vienna metropolitan railway (Wiener Stadtbahn) at Spitelau. The centre encompasses an exhibition space, concerts and parties venue, and a number of workshops/ateliers for artists. In the past several years Das WERK has provided work space for creatives from different fields such as literature, theatre, visual art, music and many more.

Apart from hosting different artists and events, das WERK organises the art festival Kunst am Kanal. It’s also the initiator of the award-winning international exchange project World Wide WERK. We want to share our passion for art with as many people as possible, so to make our cultural events accessible for all, they donation-based and affordable for disadvantaged groups. In addition to this, we organise/host different charity events related to social and humanitarian issues.

Our mission is to continue supporting emerging and avant-garde artists from all over the world by providing them with a platform to create and exchange ideas. We’re committed to spreading our love for art and making culture accessible!

Art lives, Art loves, Art WERKs!

das WERK

Das WERK ist eine alternative Kunst-und Kulturinitiative am Donaukanal in Wien. Gegründet wurde das WERK im August 2006. Es bietet Raum für verschiedenste Kunstveranstaltungen, Ateliers, Konzerte und Parties. 

Seit Frühling 2013 belebt das WERK insgesamt 5 Stadtbahnbögen an der Spittelauer Lände. Das Kulturhaus beinhaltet einen Kunst- und Galeriebereich, eine Konzert-und Partylocation und Ateliers. In den vergangenen Jahren fanden viele KünsterInnen aus den Sparten, Literatur, Theater, Bildender Kunst und Musik ein neues zu Hause im WERK.

Das WERK veranstaltet neben dem Monatsprogramm, auch Kunst-und Musikfestivals, wie zum Beispiel das "Kunst am Kanal". Ebenso wurden wir für unser Artist in Residence Programm "World Wide Werk" ausgezeichnet. Unser Vorhaben ist es, Kunst und Kultur mit so vielen Menschen wie möglich zu teilen und die Eintrittsgelder niederschwellig zu gestalten, daß auch finanziell schwächer gestellte Menschen diese besuchen können. Außerdem unterstützen wir eine Vielzahl an humanitären und sozialen Hilfsprojekten.

Unser Ziel ist es, ein Sprungbrett für nationale und internationale KünstlerInnen zu sein, sowie eine Plattform für Musik- und Kunstprojekte.



Es gibt nichts GUTES, außer man TUT es!
Kunst lebt, Kunst leibt, Kunst WERKt !!!

www.daswerk.org